Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Need Library Card
Academic Search Elite [EBSCO]
Full-text articles from over 1,000 journals, covering a range of topics, including business, social sciences, general science, and multiculturalism.
A to Z world food – food culture and traditional recipes database for 174 countries.
Auto Repair Source
Powered by the automotive experts at MOTOR, AutoMate provides the most accurate, authoritative and up-to-date service and repair information for thousands of domestic and imported vehicles. All content comes from the Original Equipment Manufacturers (OEM) and includes step-by-step repair information, diagrams, maintenance schedules, parts and labor estimates, service bulletins and recalls.
Business Plan Handbooks
A compilation of business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America. Access is made possible by the Small Business Accelerator at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre at UBC with financial support from the Sutherland Foundation.
Business Source Premiere [EBSCO]
Includes more than 2,000 business journals covering topics such as marketing, management, accounting and finance, as well as information about specific trades, industries and professions. Additional content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT (Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, and Threats) analyses. Video Tutorial [4:40 minutes]
Canadian Newsstream [ProQuest]
Full-text access to hundreds of Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail, and The Vancouver Sun, and many local papers. Updated daily.
Consumer Health Complete [EBSCO]
Health information for the general public, patients and health professionals. Includes mainstream medical information and holistic/alternative health information from popular and professional magazines, journals, reference books and reports. Also includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, with up-to-date information on medications, natural products and vaccines available in the U.S. Video Tutorial [5 minuntes]
Consumer Reports [EBSCO]
Expert buying advice, recommendations, and ratings on thousands of consumer products each year using our state-of-the-art labs, auto test center, and survey research center.
Information for students of all ages on a wide variety of topics, from history and current events to science and technology. Search a variety of sources such as magazines, encyclopedias, primary source documents and more.
Explora Primary Schools
A research interface for K-5. Simple search that quickly delivers relevant results including articles, essays, and primary source documents to help students feel successful in their research. Easy-to-browse categories organized by popular topic to give students research ideas. Topic overviews that provide students with a starting point for research.
Gale Courses – Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
IndieFlix – Watch award-winning shorts, features, and documentaries from more than 50 countries. Streaming movies available on all Internet-enabled computers, tablets (including iPad and Android), smart phones through the Web browser, and on Roku and Xbox.
Lingo lite – images, text, and native speaker video to help you learn vocabulary up to four times faster than any other method
MasterFile Premiere [EBSCO]
General reference full-text articles from hundreds of books, encyclopedias, and magazines. Includes popular magazines such as Maclean’s, New Yorker.
NNELS – The National Network for Equitable Library Service (NNELS) is a repository of content owned and sustained by Canadian public libraries, working with international partners, libraries, readers, and publishers (particularly Canadian ones) to make copies of books in accessible formats available to readers in Canada who have print disabilities. Braille for Children
Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages. Video Tutorial [5 minutes]
RBdigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the RBdigital app.
RBdigital Magazines – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
P2PU – is a non-profit that helps people learn together. They run a number of large online courses, and are looking to partner with libraries as places to host “cohorts” to what are otherwise virtual classes.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered.
World Book wizard – An adaptive learning tool, it provides a personalized learning experience, emulating the student-teacher experience
A to Z food America – regional cookbooks to an exploration of ethnic culinary influences, from fun collections of historic cookbooks and television commercials to “how to” food preparation videos, AtoZ Food America has something sure to educate and entertain everyone.
A to Z maps online – approximately 145,000 maps
A to Z world business – foundational knowledge they need to conduct business successfully in 100 different countries.
A to Z world travel – 202 city travel guides
BC Laws – BC Laws is published by the Queen’s Printer for British Columbia in partnership with the Ministry of Justice and the Legislative Assembly.
BC Law Matters
Working with public libraries in the province, Law Matters provides all British Colombian residents with local access to basic legal information. Supported by the Law Foundation of British Columbia.LawMatters-one-pager-to-share
BC Publications – Province of British Columbia’s one stop access to electronic digital publications. Offering users quick and easy access to a variety of free and subscription based publications. Start building your custom library collection today! Building code, Fire code, Plumbing code etc.
British Colonist – Every page of every issue, from the first one on December 11, 1858 until the end of June, 1910 has been scanned and made searchable.
British Columbia Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society. From BCStats, the central statistical agency of the Province of British Columbia.
Access 2006 Census full (31 page) profiles or any item with a “key” icon beside it is available here. (Note: Remote access is permitted if your library can provide authentication.)
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Clicklaw – An Internet subject guide to authoritative legal resources in BC and Canada. Developed by the Legal Services Society of BC and now maintained by the BC Courthouse Library Society. No library card is required to access this resource on the Internet.
Clicklaw Wikibooks are collaboratively developed, plain language legal publications that are published and kept up-to-date on a wiki, where they can also be printed and downloaded. They are free to download and share with British Colombians who seek reliable, up-to-date information to address legal problems or learn about the law.
Courthouse Libraries B.C. – Provides legal information resources and information services, both for members of the legal community and the public.
Family Law – Find the answers to your family law issue
Gales Business Plans Handbook – Is your gateway to quality business information. Managed by business librarians, the Small Business Accelerator (SBA) provides free access to reliable resources for industry research, market exploration, and business management, to help you build a successful business.
Global Warrior – country cultural database for 175 countries, resource for student projects
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
Legal Line – is a federal not-for-profit agency endorsed and promoted by The Law Society Of Upper Canada that provides free legal information (1,000 topics, 40 areas of law) and professional referrals. Printed materials are available to individual libraries, or to main branches to distribute (bundled individually for each branch they cover) and will be shipped free of charge.
My Law BC – Get an action plan for your legal issue. Choose a pathway, answer questions, and get your action plan.
Points to the Past – Searchable primary source material: maps, photos, newspapers, manuscripts, pamphlets, portraits, sermons, poems, and more. For research, teaching and learning.
Techboomers – will walk you through how to use websites that let you get in touch with almost anyone on the planet, whether they’re just across town or on another continent. Whether you’re looking for someone to date, a group of people who discuss the things that you like, or an old friend you haven’t seen in a while, there’s a website for it… and Techboomers will teach it to you.
Tumble Books – TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of TumbleBooks – animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.
Tumble Math – TumbleMath is a K-6 math ebook database.
World Book Encyclopedia Online
Full-text articles from the print encyclopedia plus additional articles, a dictionary, web links, videos, animation, and sound.
World Book Kids
Younger children will enjoy searching for information by keyword or topic. A special feature includes fun hands-on learning activities for elementary school age children. Categories include: Make It! activities (e.g. making recycled paper), Think It! activities (e.g. puzzles) and Be It! activities (e.g. pretend to be a geologist).
AudioBookCloud – AudioBookCloud is an all ages audio book database.
TeenBookCloud – Teen Book Cloud is a gr 7-12 ebook database.
RomanceBookCloud– The Romance Book Cloud is a huge collection of steamy Romance novels for the older crowd! Please use the following sign-ins:
In Library Use Only
Ancestry Library Edition [ProQuest]
The largest online family history resource available… exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com.
KnowBC.com Formerly Encyclopedia of British Columbia Online In-Library use only)
Thousands of entries, photos, illustrations, and multimedia covering BC-related information.